Under 18 Winter Championship 2015

Winning three of its five Round Robin games, Geelong produced perhaps its most impressive form of the tournament to down Ringwood in a Sunday afternoon playoff and finish a very creditable third at the Under 18 Winter Championship in Wangaratta.


With little separating four associations after Day One play, Geelong had drawn Dandenong and Diamond Valley for Day Two round-robin games that were delayed because of fog. While eventual tournament winner Dandenong was impressive for its 4-0 win in a terrific contest, Geelong downed Diamond Valley 9-6 to secure a showdown with Ringwood for third placing overall after head to head was applied.

Throwing the complete game, East Belmont Saints player Emerson Rickard was one of several stars in the playoff game for Geelong, who went on to defeat a powerful Ringwood combination that had inflicted a first-up loss to the GBA on Saturday.

Congratulations to Dandenong, which has had a magnificent past few years at the Winter Championships. Very well done to the Geelong squad, which was a worthy opponent in all of its games and represented the association with great distinction.

You can engage with the Geelong squad and its supporters on our FACEBOOK PAGE.

STANDINGS AFTER ROUND ROBIN:   Diamond Valley (four wins and one loss), Dandenong (3-2), Ringwood (3-2), Geelong (3-2), Sunraysia (2-3), Bendigo (0-5).


DAY ONE:   Saturday 27 June 2015

Despite a tough loss against Ringwood first-up, Geelong rebounded with big wins over Sunraysia and Bendigo to be among the leaders after Day One at the Under 18 Winter Championship in Wangaratta.

While the 0-5 loss to a powerful Ringwood outfit was not the ideal start, Geelong rebounded strongly to crush Sunraysia 12-1 and to have a comfortable 9-1 win over Bendigo.

However, although sharing a two and one record with Dandenong and Ringwood behind the undefeated Diamond Valley, Geelong faces two tough assignments on Sunday, with games against both Diamond Valley and Dandenong. Two wins would ensure a berth in the afternoon final, while one would make it tough and would be dependent upon other results being favourable.

DAY 1 STANDINGS:   Diamond Valley (3 wins, 0 losses), Dandenong (2-1), Ringwood (2-1), Geelong (2-1), Sunraysia (0-3), Bendigo (0-3).


Geelong Baseball Association is pleased to announce the following squad that will contest the Under 18 Winter Championship to be held in Wangaratta over 27 and 28 June.

The tournament has drawn six teams from across the state - Bendigo, Dandenong, Diamond Valley, Ringwood, Sunraysia and Geelong. The series will be a single round robin, with playoffs on Sunday afternoon.

Congratulations to all players and staff on their selection. Best wishes for the series, which is bound to be another high-quality tournament.

Surname First Name Winter Club
AFU Noah Bacchus Marsh
COLLINS Henry Saints
CRICHTON Lewis Saints
FIELDEN Jack Corio
MEDEW Lachlan Guild
POLLEY George Guild
REALE Sam Werribee
RENOUF James Deakin
RICKARD Emerson Saints
SPENCE Liam Guild
TAUIWI Keanu Deakin
WELLS Brock Guild
TALBOT Sean Assistant Coach
LEVY Harry Assistant Coach
RENOUF Adam Executive Officer
RENOUF Jennifer Scorer

https://sitedesq.sportstg.com/assets/siteDesq/19464/gallery/schedule.jpg  https://sitedesq.sportstg.com/assets/siteDesq/19464/gallery/results.jpg  https://sitedesq.sportstg.com/assets/siteDesq/19464/gallery/rosters.jpg




https://sitedesq.sportstg.com/assets/siteDesq/19464/gallery/BaseballVictoriaLogo.jpg   https://sitedesq.sportstg.com/assets/siteDesq/19464/gallery/vic11.jpg

Day Two Results

Sunraysia 19   Bendigo 3
Geelong 0   Dandenong 4
Diamond Valley 4   Ringwood 3
Diamond Valley 6   Geelong 9
Ringwood 6   Bendigo 3
Dandenong 7   Sunraysia 8
First versus Second
Dandenong 6   Diamond Valley 5
Third versus Fourth
Geelong 2   Ringwood 1
Fifth versus Sixth
Sunraysia 2   Bendigo 1

Day One Results

Sunraysia   4   Diamond Valley 7
Bendigo   0   Dandenong 9
Ringwood   5   Geelong 0
Ringwood   0   Dandenong 7
Geelong   12   Sunraysia 1
Bendigo   4   Diamond Valley 5
Geelong   9   Bendigo 1
Dandenong   3   Diamond Valley 5
Sunraysia   4   Ringwood 8